Where My Books Originated

Last night, while working on an online interview to be posted in a few weeks on a book interview site, I had an interesting epiphany. (Interesting to me, anyway.) I’ve written one non-fiction book about grief and four suspense novels, which at first glance are all completely different from one another. I did know the four novels had similar themes, but since the grief book was a personal account of my first year of grief rather than an imaginative story, I didn’t think it had anything in common with my fiction, but it does.

The unifying theme in all of my books is the perennial question: Who are we? More Deaths Than One suggests we are our memories. A Spark of Heavenly suggests we are the sum total of our experiences and choices. Daughter Am I suggests we are our heritage. Light Bringer suggests we are otherworldly. And Grief: The Great Yearning suggests we are what we love.


I’m also a bit of an iconoclast, and my books reflect that character.

Both More Deaths Than One and A Spark of Heavenly Fire debunk much of what we know about our shared past, especially when it comes to government control and human experimentation. (We have entrusted our lives to men and women who have not only not protected us from willful harm but instead have sold us out for . . . quite frankly, I’m still not sure what they sold us out for. Cash, in some cases, I’m sure. Power and political position, probably. The good of the whole at the expense of the few, possibly.)

Daughter Am I debunks some of the gangster myths that have been propagated by Hollywood.

Light Bringer debunks UFO myths, while at the same time postulates a greater UFO mystery.

And Grief: The Great Yearning debunks many of the myths about grief we have come to accept as truth.

The grief stages that Kübler-Ross proposed often don’t hold true for someone who has suffered a grievous loss, such as a child or a soul mate. In fact, those stages represented what she observed in terminal patients grieving for themselves and their own life. The final stage is acceptance, and acceptance of one’s own death is completely different from acceptance of another’s. I can learn to live without my soul mate and even accept it. I can admit that death relieved him of his suffering, but it is not my place to accept his death, since acceptance carries a connotation of it being okay, and I will never believe that it is okay for him to be dead. (For articles about the real stages of grief, see: The Mythic Stages of Grief, Grief and Lingering Feelings of Resentment, and Why “Grief: The Great Yearning” is Important.)

I suppose it makes sense that the same themes appear in all my books, no matter what the subject matter is since they all originated in the same place: a questioning mind that has often pondered the questions: Who are we? and What is life all about?


Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” All Bertram’s books are published by Second Wind Publishing. Connect with Pat on Google+

5 Responses to “Where My Books Originated”

  1. Sandra Carey Cody Says:

    Nice post. Thought provoking. I guess, ultimately, we all write who we are and, in writing, come to understand it a bit better.

  2. rami ungar the writer Says:

    Funny you should mention this: I was just watching a movie, and near the end a teacher in the main character’s literature class said that all fiction has one plot: “Who am I?” I’m not sure if I agree with that though, especially when I remember reading such tragic novels like “The Good Solder” or “A Tale of Two Cities”. Those are more about tragic circumstances than finding yourself.
    And now I think I have an idea for a new blog post. Thanks Pat.

  3. Doug Lucas Says:

    Lets see…I started by telling the story of a dying man. Then wrote another book about the same life as seen through his wife’s eyes and followed that with a story about a navy nurse with PSTD. Reached into my past and wrote a book called Forgotten and followed that with a book called Buzz Words. You just made me realize I’ve led a rather exciting life as a man and a woman. Now there is a thought that should scare you too death. Did I mention I’m working on a SciFi about time travel? I think in my case the sum total of what I write is a result of those voices I’ve heard for years. Did I mention my dog talks to me? Doug L

  4. Novels: Many Plots Or One Plot? | Rami Ungar The Writer Says:

    […] a little while ago, I read a blog post by my friend and fellow author Pat Bertram (see here:https://ptbertram.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/where-my-books-originated/) where she stated that at the core of every one of her novels, plus her memoir on grief, the […]

Please leave a comment. I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: